Home About The Rosalind Franklin Institute Governance Theme Advisory Panels

Theme Governance

The Theme leads, appointed in 2017, have assembled theme advisory panels comprising of experts in their academic and industrial communities, to offer advice and challenge as we work with the community to develop roadmaps for each of the themes. Additionally, the roadmaps are developed with input from the leads in other themes, ensuring that the overall direction of the themes is complementary and work packages are shared where appropriate.

Artificial Intelligence and Informatics

  • Theme lead: Dr Mark Basham
  • Dr Martin Jones, The Crick
  • Professor Simon Hettrick, University of Southampton
  • Professor Philip Biggin, University of Oxford
  • Dr James Hetherington, UCL
  • Dr Bethany Geary, University of Dundee
  • Dr Ann-Marie Mallon, The Alan Turing Institute

Past members:

  • Dr Claire Bloomfield, University of Oxford
  • Professor Noor Shaker, Phenogeneca
  • Professor Syma Khalid, University of Oxford

Biological Mass Spectrometry

  • Co-Theme Lead: Professor Josephine Bunch, Imperial College London
  • Co-Theme Lead: Professor Zoltan Takats, Imperial College London
  • Professor Dame Carol Robinson, University of Oxford
  • Professor Vicki Wysocki, Ohio State University
  • Dr Richard Goodwin, AstraZeneca
  • Professor Carsten Hopf, Universit√§tsmedizin Mannheim

Correlated Imaging

  • Theme lead: Angus Kirkland, University of Oxford
  • Professor Nigel Browning, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Dwayne Miller, Max Planck
  • Professor Jianwei (John) Miao, UCLA
  • Professor Roland Fleck, King’s College London
  • Professor Fu-Rong Chen, City University of Hong Kong
  • Professor Sarah Haigh, University of Manchester

Next Generation Chemistry

  • Theme Lead: Professor Ben G Davis, University of Oxford
  • Dr Diane Coe, GSK
  • Professor Rachel O’Reilly, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Paula Booth, Kings College London
  • Professor Seung Lee, University of Southampton
  • Professor Veronique Gouverneur, University of Oxford
  • Dr Luis Castro, UCB
  • Professor Hiro Suga, University of Tokyo
  • Dr Richard Lee, St Jude Children’s Research Hospital
  • Dr Lee Cronin, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Michele Vendruscolo, University of Cambridge

Past members:

  • Professor Sabine Flitsch, University of Manchester
  • Professor Stephen Caddick, University College London
  • Professor Sheena Radford, University of Leeds
  • Professor Mark Bradley, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor David Klug, Imperial College London

Structural Biology

  • Theme Lead: Professor James Naismith, University of Oxford and Research Complex at Harwell
  • Professor Malcolm Walkinshaw , University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Sheena Radford, University of Leeds
  • Dr Marisa Martin-Fernandez, Research Complex at Harwell
  • Dr Maria Flocco, AstraZeneca
  • Professor Dave Stuart, University of Oxford and Diamond Light Source
  • Dr Alistair Siebert, Diamond Light Source
  • Dr Daniel Clare, Diamond Light Source
  • Dr Belinda Faust, Vertex
Rosalind Franklin Institute